Ambubachi Mela and Kukurakata Chaki, Kamakhya-Part III

Kshetra Puranas and Other stories

Kamakhya, as seen before, has a mixture of architectual styles and elements.  Some of these have stories of their own to narrate to the vast crowds that gather. The temple at Kamakhya has, for instance, attached to it, a water tank and a flight of steps from the foot hills. The story behind these two are just as interesting as the story of the temple itself and forms an integral part of the divine acts of Devi Kamakhya.

Devi Kamakhya

Naraka, was the King of Pragjyothishapura. He was born to Vishnu and Bhooma Devi and was left on Janaka’s field, entrusting his upkeep to the King of Mithila. Janaka brought up Naraka along with the other royal princes. Naraka excelled all the other royal princes in every form of art and warcraft. This frightened the King of Mithila. He was now worried about the possible seizing of his kingdom, by Naraka, from…

View original post 986 more words


The Legend of Nilachala, Kamakhya-Part II

Kshetra Puranas and Other stories

Kamakhya, as we saw before, stands atop a mountain referred to as Nilachala or the Blue Mountain. The mountain is thought to be the very body of Shiva, and when Sati’s vagina fell on it, it turned a violent blue, giving the mountain its present name. Kamakhya, is thought to be the place where Sakthi secretly resorts to satisfy her amour with Shiva and hence all the love and erotic legends connected with it. 

What is unique about Kamakhya, is the absence of any particular idol of the goddess. The main item of worship which is given all respects is a yoni, (a hole shaped like the clittoris or the opening of a vagina), from which flows a perennial spring keeping it moist always. It is often covered with red cloth and flowers and the devotees are allowed to touch it and worship it. Some even drink the water that…

View original post 1,368 more words

Daksha’s Spoilt Yagna, Kamakhya-Part I

Kshetra Puranas and Other stories

About three miles from Gauhati, Assam, on the holy hill of Neelachala lies the famed temple of Kameswari sametha Kameswara, Kamakhya. The temple is considered to be one of the potent sites by all the sakthas and tantric followers, where the goddess is worshipped in both her creative and erotic roles. The temple sees a steady surge of pilgrims all through the year and a huge gathering in the months of August-September for the famed Ambubachi carnival, to prostrate and pray before a round hole on earth from which flows a perennial spring. The origins of this temple are quite obscure and there are a number of versions. But they all start at the very same point- Daksha’s Grand Yagna.

Daksha, one of the sons of Brahma and one of the chief Prajapatis was conducting a grand scale yagna. The purpose of the yagna, was not to attain great powers…

View original post 1,159 more words

Devi Mahatmyam Reading Procedure

Devi Mahatmyam Reading Procedure (Trayangam & Navangam) | Sage of Kanchi

Sage of Kanchi



Devi Mahatmyam (Durga Saptashati or Chandi Path) is a powerful text dedicated to Goddess Shakti. The reading procedure of Devi Saptashati is given here in detail version. Many devotees are confused on how to recite this powerful text – on which day, which adhyaya (chapter) needs to be chanted..

There are two methods to start reading Devi Mahatmym – Trayangam and Navangam.

Trayangam is a method in which we need to chant three prayers – Devi Kavacham, Argala Stotram and Devi Keelakam followed by Navakshari Mantram.

Navangam is a method for which nine prayers are recited prior of starting reading the book. Navangam stotrams are: Devi Nyasa, Devi Avahana, Devi Namani, Argala Stotram, Keelaka Stotram, Devi Hrudaya, Dhala, Devi Dhyana and Devi Kavacha.

As per the prescribed methods in ancient scriptures, Devi Mahatmya should be read in one sitting. After finishing the recital of Devi Mahatmya, one should…

View original post 317 more words

sapta mātrika: The seven mothers

sapta mātrika: The seven mothers


प्रेतसंस्था तु चामुण्डा वाराही महिषासना।
ऐन्द्री गजसमारूढा वैष्णवी गरुडासना॥
माहेश्वरी वृषारूढा कौमारी शिखिवाहना।
लक्ष्मीः पद्मासना देवी पद्महस्ता हरि प्रिया॥
देवी कवच ९ – १०

pretasaṁsthā tu cāmuṇḍā vārāhī mahiṣāsanā |
aindrī gajasamārūḍhā vaiṣṇavī garuḍāsanā ||
māheśvarī vṛṣārūḍhā kaumārī śikhivāhanā |
lakṣmīḥ padmāsanā devī padmahastā hari priyā ||
devī kavaca 9 – 10

cāmuṇḍā is situated on a ghost, vārāhī on a bull, aindrī is seated on an elephant, vaiṣṇavī on an eagle, māheśvarī on a Taurus, kaumārī on a peacock, lakṣmī whose hands are adorned with whilst seated on a lotus flower.

Left to right:
Sampathkari Devi
1. Brahmani Devi – The consort of Lord Brahmā
2. Vaishanvi Devi – The consort of Lord Visnu
3. Maheshvari Devi – The consort of Lord Shiva
4. Kumari Devi – The consort of Kartikey (The son of Lord Shiva)
5. Varahi Devi – The consort of Lord Varaha (The second incarnation of Lord Visnu)
6. Indrani Devi –…

View original post 34 more words